Absentee Until Week Three: Sorry and Stories

Since arriving to Chateh three weeks ago, I’ve heard many stories: stories from my partner about her day at work or our two wonderful cats, stories from my family about their exciting plans and other news, and stories from many Dene Tha’ community members and kids about everything and (sometimes) not much at all. One of my favourite TEDTalks captures so much of the tenets that I try to uphold as a researcher. In this talk, Brené Brown says, “I’m a qualitative researcher. I collect stories; that’s what I do. And maybe stories are just data with a soul. And maybe I’m just a storyteller.”
           Since arriving to Chateh, I’ve struggled with trying to tell these stories that are not my own – somehow putting pen to paper about what I have seen, heard, learned, and thought, but not taking another story and penning it as my own. One of my biggest challenges that I have encountered is that I am, in fact, a “researcher,” trying to understand health issues in a First Nations community. What I have learned most since arriving here is that I myself will never come to know these challenges. The truth of the matter is that everyone already knows them, and I just need to listen.
           With that being said, I’m very excited that the Health Centre I’m working with has given me a project where I can put pen to paper without reservation, and I can put what I’ve heard into words. For the next month or two, I will be working on a Needs Assessment for the Health Centre. As it stands, there is uncertainty about the definitive role of the HC in the community  – is it for primary care? Emergencies only? Continuing care? Should the pharmacy get up and running again? What programs should be run out of it? How does transportation complicate these issues? Overall, I have a lot of questions, few answers, and a tremendous amount of excitement going forward at a chance to develop something that can and will be used in communication with Health Canada and other stakeholders. While I might not be able to tell a story with this Needs Assessment, perhaps instead I can paint a picture. As they say, sometimes a picture is worth a thousand words.
          I’m a little behind on my blog, and cannot believe it has been two weeks since the last update. There are so many things I still want to touch on – oil and gas development, water updates, and more – but I’ll save that for another day. See below for some photos of my past couple of weeks, too! 

Image

Beautiful sky out here last night – the Health Centre is the building on the right. 

Image

One of the bull riders at the Mosquito Creek Rodeo!

Image

The sky gets quite scary out here sometimes!

Image

The cats are being good* at home. * = they do not normally share the window this well.

Image

My bedroom here in Chateh! I just got a bed early last week and do not think I have ever slept better these past few nights.

Image
A good one to end on – the coffee cup that I get stuck with sometimes. 

Until next time!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Absentee Until Week Three: Sorry and Stories

  1. Travis

    Ah yes, the “sharing stories that are not your own” conundrum. Two things: 1) When you share a story, it is your story. Yes there are plenty of concerns about representation and a fear of speaking for others, but what responsibilities do you have when a story or information has been shared with you? Do you have an obligation to share the story further? Why are YOU being told the story? At the end of the day you can only speak for yourself, not a community, but you can speak in a way that is informed by community members.
    2) The comfort to speak about a community in an informed way comes with time. Sometimes you learn something that allows for no option other than to be shared. The rest will follow when you understand the values of community members better and what community members think your role is. You will know when you’ve passed this point.
    Just some thoughts since I think about these things too much. I look forward to more stories.

Leave a comment